top of page

DIY - Leatherman ALX Sheath


I’ve been wanting to do this project for a while. After my last factory sheath died a horrible death on my belt. I decided I wanted to build one myself. I didn’t like the sheaths that were available in other materials besides leather. But the leather sheaths I found were either custom, and far too expensive for me (Even though I would LOVE to have some of them) but also, the factory sheath didn’t have the features I wanted. So I set about and designed one of my own.

This is what I came up with. Unfortunately I didn’t document the process, I was just in a hurry to knock it out and get it back on my belt. I had missed it for quite a few months.

The leather is not as heavy as I would like. This is about 3oz leather. A heavier 5 oz would be better. But this is scrap I had laying around (Did I mention I’m a cheapskate LOL).

The most important thing I wanted was to be able to carry the bit kit with it. In my first Leatherman sheath the bit kit rode in the sheath in a similar manner, but was always getting stuck and difficult to pull out. After that sheath broke, the canvas sheath had a stretch fabric to hold the bit kit and the corners of the bit kit tore it up really fast.

This is hand punched and hand stitched. The snap was from a kit. This is just the prototype and it has a tiny bit more play than I intended. So the next will be a tad bit tighter. I did wet-form it around the weatherman wrapped in a Ziploc bag to get some definition to the sheath, but it could stand to be a tad bit tighter.

I didn’t have the bottom cut out as I intended to have it sealed, but once I started stitching I discovered that that would not work. So I cut a half moon on the bottom and that corrected it. Due to this modification, the Leatherman can be carried opened up in the pliers configuration.

The stitching is done with a waxed natural hemp cord. This stuff is very strong for it’s size and has the more natural look than modern threading. I died the leather with a Sedona Red stain. Helps protect it and the deep redish color makes it fit in well with bot jeans and my dress clothes for work.

I also extended the belt loop up a bit. Both of the old sheaths rode high on the belt and would occasionally poke into my side sitting in chairs or in the car. This longer loop allows it to dangle down a tad bit more and has a little more flexibility. Much more comfortable to wear.

I did stamp my initials on it, but did not do it very deep.

I’m going to duplicate this sheath with some heavier leather. This was just the practice and concept version.

It’s obviously nothing fancy. None of the refinement you’ll see in leather goods produced by true craftsman. But it gets the job done and as in life, everything is a learning process. You don’t have to be an expert. You just have to make the effort.

This is also proof that anyone can do this. A leather punch, some thread, a sharp knife (I use the Tibo from the previous review for all my leather work) a big needle and some cheap scrap leather and anyone can do it. I have no talent when it comes to crafts like this. But this is how you learn. I learned a few things building this, and when I do the next one, it will be better, and each time I do something after that, it will be better. So keep working on your projects, they will improve. If I can do it, anyone can do it. Pick up some scrap leather and start playing with it. Make a small bag, or a phone cover or something simply just to get started. Before you know it, you’ll be making really useful stuff that will last a lifetime.

Hope this inspires you to get out there and build something.

Doc

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page