top of page

Axe Comparison Gransfors Bruk vs Generic Budget Axe


Razor’s Opinion

I am a gear junkie, and I love high-end gear. I was excited to get a chance to test out the Gransfors Bruk Scandinavian Forest axe and actually put a budget axe of similar size to the test right beside it. My first impression is that the GB is one beautiful looking tool. It was razor sharp out of the box, lightweight, and extremely well balanced. It also is very ergonomic and feels good in the hand. I used my youth axe to compare it with. The youth axe weighs a little more and the handle was about two inches longer, but they were very similar in size.

After testing for a while I must say in hard wood like we often find around these parts, they performed about the same. I do believe the GB would bite deeper in soft woods and pines due to its slightly thinner profile, but the slight weight advantage of the youth axe tended to cut just as well in hard woods. My only complaint of the GB is the finger hook on the handle. At first I thought I would like it, but I noticed it tended to cause a hot spot on my finger. A simple fix would be to lightly sand it down.

The head of the hardware store axe was thicker and tapered faster into a wedge and split a little better than the GB. The handle of the GB is noticeably thicker meaning it will take more abuse in the long run. This would be a benefit if you were packing in and building a cabin to stay for a while. The hardware store youth axe at 24 dollars would be relatively easy to buy and replace the handle if it were to be damaged, and still have some money left over for another 4 or 5 handles.

My own opinion is if you truly plan to pack into the deep woods for months at a time and want a lightweight axe that is both easy to carry and will take more abuse, the GB is the way to go. If you were on a budget or if you’re a weekender looking for something bigger than a hatchet and smaller than a full sized axe to pack in and process firewood you wouldn’t be handicapped with the hardware store youth sized axe. ~Razor

Watcher’s Opinion

After getting a higher paying job, I decided that I was going to begin investing in higher quality gear that would last me a lifetime (At 22, this would pay off quickly for me). A quality axe was one of the first and most important pieces of gear that I wanted to invest in. After hours of research, I decided on the Gransfors Bruk Scandinavian Axe as a compromise between a large axe and a hatchet. This test session was the first chance I had to use my axe.

After using both axes for a short period of time, I had developed strong opinions about both of them. The GB was a pleasure to handle and I found that I liked the knob on the end of the axe handle. The axe bit deep into the wood, was well balanced, and didn’t tire me to use. While chopping green branches, the GB went through them like butter. The GB chopped well into hardwoods, and was easy to control. The GB was efficient at splitting wood, but it wasn’t quite heavy enough to be as effective as other axes.

The youth axe was a very formidable axe and preformed the job that it was made to do. It didn’t bite quite as deeply in hard wood, but the added weight helped it preform almost equally to the GB. When it came to splitting wood, the youth axe was a dream to use due to the extra weight over the GB. The handle wasn’t quite as sturdy, but for the cost I have no complaints.

In the end, these were both formidable tools that accomplished the tasks they were made for. I did feel that the GB was more enjoyable to use, it seemed to swing easier and bite deeper for me. At the price point though, the youth axe easily wins out and you could own 5 of those axes for the price of one GB. I chose the GB because it is the kind of tool that you can pass down to your children, and that is what I intend to do. Depending on your budget either would be a worthy tool. ~Watcher

Other Staff Comments

Doc

I have also spent some time with a Gransforths Bruks axe, and both Razor and Watcher are spot on in their assesments. This also fits well with my value matrix, when two items are so close in performance and features (The 95th Percentile I call it), then it makes the decision between budget and higher priced items very easy. As much as I like the GB's, I would choose the budget axe and spend the savings on other gear, lots of other gear.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page