top of page

Footwear

Our feet get us from point A to point B every day. They are infinitely more important to us when we’re in the woods and have no alternative way to get around. Unfortunately, we often take our feet for granted and neglect them. This leads to issues such as blisters, sprained ankles, and sore feet. Last year at the ZASC invitational I chose to wear a pair of Keen sandals for the weekend due to the warm temperatures. By the end of the weekend my feet were caked with dirt, they were sore, and I had multiple small wounds on my feet even after washing them nightly and wrapping my ankles in gauze along hot spots. Lesson learned!

I have been wearing boots since I was 15, but until recently had not found a pair that was truly right for me. I have odd feet, flat and wide, and although I tried on many pairs over the years, I always ended up settling for something less than perfect. I owned many pairs that were too long in order to fit my wide feet. (This leads to banged up toes, sore foot muscles when going up/down hillsides and blisters.) I also bought a few pairs that were too narrow simply because they had received good reviews online. After walking in excruciating pain and not being able to enjoy my trips outdoors I set out to find the right pair of boots. I took 4 main things into consideration: waterproofing, height, weight, and breathability.

Waterproofing:

Keeping your feet dry during rain or stream crossings is incredibly important in a pair of shoes for outdoor use. By keeping your feet dry you help to prevent trench rot as well as keep them warm and comfortable. There are a couple options for this, waterproofed leather and Gore-Tex. Leather will need to be treated on a yearly basis, and eventually leather separates from the sole, which leads to leaks. A waterproof Gore-Tex liner is also an option. I ended up going with a combination of the two and am very happy so far.

Height:

Footwear for the outdoors vary from tennis shoe height (just below the ankle), 6” boots, 8” boots, or even taller. A 6” boot provides excellent ankle support and mobility. This is what I went with. While an 8” boot provides even more stability it will be slightly heavier than the 6” model. There are taller options, sometimes called snake boots which are worn in areas where poisonous snakes are present and help prevent bites, but they are not really practical for camping and hiking.

Weight:

You can find boots that are lightweight, mid-weight, and heavyweight. The more a pair of boots weigh, the more stability they offer. Heavier boots generally give your feet more protection from the environment. There is a tradeoff here though, and I prefer to go with lighter boots. By wearing light boots, your legs do not get as tired allowing you to travel further and enjoy more of the outdoors. This is something that you must decide for yourself based on personal preference.

Breathability:

Waterproof liners such as Gore-Tex advertise that they keep water out but remain breathable. However they may have overstated this claim. Waterproof boots often keep in the moisture resulting from your feet sweating. Non-waterproof boots often have mesh panels that help them to breath, just like old military jungle boots. This is another area of tradeoff, do you prefer boots that are going to keep your feet dry but hang onto sweat, or do you prefer boots that don’t shed water but will dry quickly.

After taking all of these things into consideration I finally found a pair of boots that were all I wanted, plus they fit my feet right. Here is my advice to you:

  • Know what you want in a pair of boots.

  • Research options online to find what best fit your criteria and what ranks well. You’d be amazed how many $200 boots get terrible reviews because they are poor quality and how many $100 boots rival $300 boots, DO YOUR RESEARCH.

  • After you find a few contenders, GO TRY THEM ON. Don’t stop here; wear them around the store for at least 30 minutes while you do some more shopping.

  • Don’t give up if you don’t find something right away that works for you, keep looking and DO NOT SETTLE.

  • Lastly, if the price is an issue, look online. You’d be amazed the deals that you can get. Amazon does free returns on boots, so if there is a pair that you like but can’t find locally you can send them to your home and try them for free.

Finding a pair of boots can be an arduous task, but your feet will thank you in the end. Having a dry pair of feet that aren’t sore at the end of a long day of hiking can mean the difference between an enjoyable trip and ending up in a survival situation. You will find what works for you and I hope that all of this makes your journey less painful.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page