top of page

Diamond Fly Tarp Review

I don't get to chime in much on here, I'm just way to busy most the time. Well, I've been waiting for some adventurous weather to come our way so I could highlight a shelter we instructors at ZASC teach in our classes. The weatherman said rain, winds and storms so I grabbed my bag and headed to the woods. This is about a good 30 minute hike in, not playing in the back yard or being able to go jump in the van 30 feet away. (but it’s also not 10 miles in when every ounce counts so I did take a couple comfort items (my Thermarest Prolite, my ultra lightweight 40 degree sleeping bag and a military Goretex bivy sack.) It was a beautiful day and I set up in accordance to the general wind direction.

Made camp and went off to do some fishing. The rains held off till just about bedtime. Now when Ii was a wee beginner at tarp camping, I used to buy cheap Walmart poly tarps and set them up lean too style. In decent weather that works but weather has a way of being unpredictable. Winds change and it doesn't take much for the rain to start blowing in from the ends of a lean to. In reality, if you tarp camp enough, you find this out real quick.

I switched to what’s called a diamond fly years ago. I actually picked it up from some rendezvous friends of mine and it’s been done for centuries. (Yes, never question real experience, it’s usually right.) I liked the way it set up, good weather and wind protection from multiple directions but it also leaves good room for sitting up, dressing, cooking etc.

Not to get off subject but I tried setting up cheap blue rectangular poly tarps in many fashions and learned the hard way that they are never truly square. They never set up "taut" or tight, they flap in the wind and tear out very easily in high winds. (Just try winter camping with them on the plains in a real blizzard, and not a little wind or a calm light snowfall in 30 degree weather. Cold greatly affects their strength.) A torn tarp blowing around while you’re getting pummeled with wind, rain, sleet or snow is not a good thing.

I've used canvas, which is actually among my favorites. It’s heavy and it can leak if you touch the inside inadvertently, but far stronger than poly or even heavyweight nylon. If I'm car camping or canoe camping, Ii will use it in a heartbeat when weight doesn't matter. It can be stretched taut and is very quiet in the wind unlike a noisy poly tarp. It has a nice sound when rain hits it and doesn't sound like your inside a drum made of tinfoil.

So what is the alternative if you want a quality tarp that's stronger than poly, lighter and cheaper than canvas? Your choice is slim but it happens to be nylon. It’s what I’m using and I'm using it because I've used everything else. What’s good is a decent nylon tarp and is only twice the price of a cheap poly tarp that usually will only last about a half a season of real camping (unless you only camp once a month in nice weather). I've had a couple nylon tarps (one is going on 10 years and it was only $39.00. If i used cheap poly tarps i would have spent well over 100-200 dollars on them by now.)

Anyway, I got off subject a little. The diamond fly. It gives great coverage, breaths well in hot weather, catches better radiant heat from a fire and you can always lift the parts touching the ground to allow airflow in hot weather. Experience has taught me that this is about the easiest, fastest and best weather protection you can get from a tarp. Mine was $24.00 and weighs 1.75 pounds with guy lines, stakes and groundsheet. I guyed out the fly in this picture with two extra guy outs because we were intending to get strong winds , heavy rains and even thunderstorms. Normally I don't use them in decent weather. It guys out tight and doesn't flap in the wind at all.

Well, we got strong winds and heavy rains for a bit but no real thunderstorms but the wind changed direction quite a few times. I stayed perfectly dry and had it gotten worse i could always turn perpendicular to the corners for even more weather protection.

The number one most important thing to remember when tarp camping is to keep it tight. A loose, flapping tarp will tear easily as well as keep you awake all night. Another key thing to remember is a tarp needs to breathe if you’re going to wrap your body in it. If you find yourself wrapping one poly tarp around you to stay dry while you’re under another tarp, then you've done something wrong. A poly tarp does not breathe, so it will trap moisture on you, making you damp and wet. The opposite of what it’s supposed to be doing.

This set up is tried and true; it’s been done for a long time and simply works. So next time you decide to go tarp camping give it a try.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page